jul 112017
 

Det ble for noen dager siden kjent at Vatikanets sakramentskongregasjon har sendt ut et brev som minner alle biskoper, prester og andre katolikker om de gjeldende reglene for hva slags brød og vin som kan brukes i eukaristien/ nattverden. Hele brevet kan leses på engelsk her.

Vårt Land skriver ganske fyldig om dette i dag, men de tar feil når de mener at dette er nye og strengere regler enn tidligere. Troskongregasjonen tok opp spørsmålet om hvordan man skal løse problemet med personer som har problemer med gluten og alkohol i alle fall så tidlig som 1980.

Grunnen til at brevet er kommet nå ser vi i pkt. 2, nemlig at hvis man ikke kjøper hostier og vin fra katolske organisasjoner, må man være ekstra på vakt:

2. Until recently it was certain religious communities who took care of baking the bread and making the wine for the celebration of the Eucharist. Today, however, these materials are also sold in supermarkets and other stores and even over the internet. …

I Norge kjøper menighetene (så vidt jeg vet) alltid hostier fra katolske søsterkongregasjoner i utlandet, mest i Tyskland og Nederland. Men de fleste kjøper vanlig hvitvin på polet; bare noen få kjøper spesiell, katolsk nattverdvin.

For katolikker er det svært godt kjent informasjon at vi i eukaristien må bruke brød laget av hvete og vanlig druevin (ikke avalkoholisert), og bestemmelsene om dette står bl.a. i innledningen til Messeboken (nr 282 og 284 i den norske utgaven som ble utgitt i 1982), og i Kirkeretten, siste utgave fra 1983 (kan. 835 § 1).

Vatikanets sakramentskongregasjon presiserte dette i 2004, i instruksjonen Redemptionis Sacramentum, On certain matters to be observed or to be avoided regarding the Most Holy Eucharist. Der skriver de:

[48.] The bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition. It follows therefore that bread made from another substance, even if it is grain, or if it is mixed with another substance different from wheat to such an extent that it would not commonly be considered wheat bread, does not constitute valid matter for confecting the Sacrifice and the Eucharistic Sacrament. It is a grave abuse to introduce other substances, such as fruit or sugar or honey, into the bread for confecting the Eucharist. Hosts should obviously be made by those who are not only distinguished by their integrity, but also skilled in making them and furnished with suitable tools. …

[50.] The wine that is used in the most sacred celebration of the Eucharistic Sacrifice must be natural, from the fruit of the grape, pure and incorrupt, not mixed with other substances. During the celebration itself, a small quantity of water is to be mixed with it. Great care should be taken so that the wine intended for the celebration of the Eucharist is well conserved and has not soured. It is altogether forbidden to use wine of doubtful authenticity or provenance, for the Church requires certainty regarding the conditions necessary for the validity of the sacraments. Nor are other drinks of any kind to be admitted for any reason, as they do not constitute valid matter.

Les hele dette dokumentet her.

I sitatet over står det ikke noe om personer som har problemer med gluten og alkohol, men Vatikanets troskongregasjon har tatt opp også det spørsmålet flere ganger (1980, 1982, 1995), og i 2003 skriver de det som siteres i det nylig utsendte brevet fra sakramentskongregasjonen. Her er starten av bestemmelsene fra 2003 – som man finner her:

The Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith has been for many years studying how to resolve the difficulties that some of the faithful encounter in receiving Holy Communion when for various serious reasons they are unable to consume normal bread or wine.

A number of documents on this question have been issued in the past …

In light of the experience of recent years, it has been deemed necessary at this time to return to the topic, taking up the above-mentioned documents and clarifying them wherever necessary.

A. The use of gluten-free hosts and mustum

1. Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.

2. Low-gluten hosts (partially gluten-free) are valid matter, provided they contain a sufficient amount of gluten to obtain the confection of bread without the addition of foreign materials and without the use of procedures that would alter the nature of bread.

3. Mustum, which is grape juice that is either fresh or preserved by methods that suspend its fermentation without altering its nature (for example, freezing), is valid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.

B. Communion under one species or with a minimal amount of wine

1. A layperson affected by celiac disease, who is not able to receive, Communion under the species of bread, including low-gluten hosts, may receive Communion under the species of wine only.

…..

Troskongregasjonen hadde før dette, i 1994, utgitt et dokument som sa mye av det samme (se her), bl.a.:

A. This may be granted by ordinaries to priests and laypersons affected by celiac disease, after presentation of a medical certificate.

B. Conditions for the validity of the matter:

1) Special hosts quibus glutinum ablatum est are invalid matter for the celebration of the eucharist.

2) Low-gluten hosts are valid matter, provided that they contain the amount of gluten sufficient to obtain the confection of bread, that there is no addition of foreign materials and that the procedure for making such hosts is not such as to alter the nature of the substance of the bread.

Det kan være av interesse å nevne at Den norske nå visst har sluttet helt å bruke hvetemel i oblatene de bruker i nattverden. Sannsynligvis har dette vært tilfelle siden Kirkemøtet i Den norske kirke i april 2011 vedtok at alle kirkens oblater skulle være glutenfrie. Avisen Dagen trykket et leserinnlegg fra Torkild Masvie og skrev en artikkel (se her) om dette i mars 2014. Disse nye oblatene ser ut til å inneholde «rismel, maisstivelse og potetmel – men ikke hvete.» Jeg skrev om dette på min blogg i 2014 – se her. For oss katolikker ville noe slikt være helt utelukket.

At Den katolske kirke har tydelige regler om hva slags brød og vin som kan brukes når eukaristien feires, bør ikke overraske noen. Og nå (14 år etter siste klargjøring) har Kirken altså minnet alle biskoper, prester og troende på de gjeldende reglene.


Jeg publiserte tidligere i dag et nokså likt innlegg på Verdidebatt (se her), og en kortere versjon skal komme i papiravisa i morgen.

Innlegget er også lagt ut på katolsk.no.

 Legg igjen et svar

Du kan bruke disse HTML taggene and attributtene: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(obligatorisk)

(obligatorisk)